PDL News


July 26, 1999
Mowry Among the Top 100!
Todd Mowry has been selected as one of the 100 young innovators, with "the potential to make significant technological contributions in the next century" by Technology Review. These folks are the "ones to watch" and "promise to impact the world" in the coming years. Todd and the other recipients will be profiled in a Special Issue of TR in November and honored at an awards gala on November 4. The program also includes an "historic, one-day gathering of business, technology and academic leaders who will meet to celebrate these young visionaries." Watch for particulars at
(from SCS-Today, July 26, 1999)

July 20, 1999
Gibson Joins SNIA Technical Council
Along with nine other recognized technical leaders in storage networking, Garth Gibson has been selected by the Storage Networking Industry Association's (SNIA) board of directors to form the SNIA Technical Council. A new initiative of SNIA that will speed the acceptance of storage networking, the Storage Networking Technical Council, will define architectures, frameworks, and recommend direction for existing and new technical working groups.

The technical council (with short biographies online comprises: David Anderson, Seagate Technology Inc.; Richard Barker, VERITAS; David Black, EMC Corporation; Jim Carlson, IBM; Garth Gibson, CMU; Tad Lebeck, Legato Systems; Kevin Phaup, formerly with Microsoft, now sponsored by Highground; Wayne Rickard, Gadzoox Networks; Brad Stamas (Council Chairman), Storage Tek; and David Thiel, Compaq Computer Corporation.

May 18, 1999
Intel Graduate Fellowship
Fay Chang has been awarded the 1999-2000 Intel Graduate Fellowship in Computer Science, considered among the company's most prestigious academic honors. The award, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement and scientific relevance of the recipient's research to Intel's industrial focus, includes funding and a microprocessor-based personal computer system from Intel.
(from SCS-Today, May 18, 1999)

May 6, 1999
SCS Staff Recognition Awards
One of our own was a winner of this year's SCS Staff Recognition Awards! Congratulations to Paul Mazaitis for exemplifying the very best in job performance, dedication, and winning attitude. Tina Cobb and Laura Forsyth also took home awards. And to all this year's winners and nominees, including Jean Harpley, Jennifer Landefeld, Carolyn Ludwig, Stephanie Riso, Patty Mackiweicz, Susan Pallone, Dennis Royse, Cleah Schlueter, Ken Sharp, Diane Stidle and Weiyi Yang...another round of well-earned and wild applause. SCS is richer, wiser, and more productive from all your efforts.
(from SCS-Today, May 6, 1999)

March 22, 1999
Thesis Proposal
Fay Chang successfully proposed "Using Speculative Execution to Automatically Hide I/O Latency" on March 22. Her committee included Garth Gibson (Chair), Thomas Gross, Todd Mowry, and Jim Larus (Microsoft).

March 15, 1999
Seth Goldstein receives NSF Career Award
Seth Goldstein is the recipient of a National Science Foundation Early Career Development Program "CAREER" Award, for his project "Architecture and Compilers for Tiger Machines." CAREER awards, until recently known as Presidential Young Investigator awards, provide support to outstanding junior faculty members in their pursuit of "research and education of the highest quality...integral components in stimulating the discovery and learning process."
(from SCS-Today, March 15, 1999)

March 8, 1999
Fay Chang receives Best Student Paper Award at OSDI
Fay Chang's paper, "Automatic I/O Hint Generation through Speculative Execution," has been awarded best student paper (tied) at the 3rd Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI), sponsored by USENIX, IEEE TCOS and ACM SIGOPS, in New Orleans on 23-25 February 1999. Fay was the conference's first speaker, and "did a super job even though her voice threatened to fail at any moment right up to and during her talk." She received compliments from a wide variety of leaders in the field.
(from SCS-Today, March 8, 1999)

February 25, 1999
Garth Gibson wins Newell Award
Garth received his gold medal at the CS "Whole Department Meeting" in February, "in recognition of outstanding work and dedication to quality research." Established in 1992, the Newell Award pays tribute to "real science", pursued with the integrity, enthusiasm, and drive exemplified by Allen Newell's scientific career.

February 15, 1999
Todd Mowry Selected a Sloan Research Fellow
Todd Mowry has been selected as a Sloan Research Fellow. Awarded yearly by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, this fellowship acknowledges "outstanding young scientists and economists who are engaged in research at the frontiers of computer science, physics, mathematics, chemistry, economics and neuroscience." The program originated in 1955 and selects the awardees from hundreds of exemplary candidates, all in the early stages of their professional careers. The small group of final recipients are selected on the basis of "their exceptional promise to contribute to the advancement of knowledge." Congratulations to Todd, who joins 1994-1996 recipient, Avrim Blum.
(from SCS-Today, Feb. 15, 1999)

January 7, 1999
Karen Linsenfelser receives College of Engineering Staff Award
Karen Lindenfelser, faculty secretary in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), was a top honoree at the College of Engineering's fifth annual Staff Recognition Awards, Jan. 7 in the Singleton Room, Roberts Hall. Selected by a committee of her peers from nominations across the college, Lindenfelser was recognized for exceptional job performance, extraordinary dedication, an unfailing positive attitude and for being a team player who serves as a role model for colleagues.
(from Carnegie Mellon News, Jan 22, 1999)


More PDL news here.