PDL News


June 2024
PDL Paper Ties for Best Paper at SIGMETRICS '24!
Congratulations to PDL authors Mohammad Bakshalipour and Phil Gibbons on their award for Best Paper at Sigmetrics 2024, held in Venice, Italy this summer. The paper "Agents of Autonomy: A Systematic Study of Robotics on Modern Hardware" presents a systematic performance study of robotics on modern hardware and introduces RoWild, an open-source benchmark suite for robotics that is comprehensive and cross-platform, encompassing a broad range of robots, such as driverless vehicles, pilotless drones, and stationary robotic arms.

May 2024
PDL Students Win Qualcaomm Innovation Fellowship

Congratulation to PDL research partners Kaiyang Zhao (CS) and Hilbert (Yuang) Chen (ECE), who have been selected to receive a Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship for their work on Learned Virtual Memory for Heterogeneous Architectures.The project rethinks virtual memory using lightweight machine learning models to solve challenges in data centers and at the edge. Virtual memory has become a severe bottleneck due to the significant increase in memory-intensive workloads such as artificial intelligence applications. The ambitious goal of the project is to provide a pliable abstraction that dynamically learns and adjusts based on the workload behavior and underlying hardware. The result will enable major performance and energy efficiency gains, and ultimately reduce the carbon footprint across edge devices and servers in data centers.

Students selected for the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship earn a one-year fellowship and are mentored by Qualcomm engineers to facilitate the success of the proposed research. The fellowship comes with $100,000 to fund that research.
-- from CMU School of Computer Science News, Aaron Aupperlee, Tuesday, May 14, 2024

April 2024
Community Award for Best Paper at NSDI!

Congratulations to Juncheng Yang, Rashmi Vinayak and their co-author on having their paper selected to receive the Community award for Best Paper at NSDI! The paper, "SIEVE is Simpler than LRU: An Efficient Turn-Key Eviction Algorithm for Web Caches" discusses new caching and eviction algorithms to maximize efficiency, reducing the cache miss ratio. This is the team's second community award - they also won in 2021 for their paper "Segcache: A Memory-efficient and Scalable In-memory Key-value Cache for Small Objects."

February 2024
Nathan Beckmann Receives 2024 Sloan Fellowship

Congratulations to Nathan Beckmann, who has been named a Sloan Research Fellow of 2024. Among 126 early-career scholars, Nathan represents the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Nathan's current research focuses on building energy-efficient, general-purpose, post-Von Neumann computers, showing that systems can be both general-purpose and highly energy-efficient. More information about his research may be found here.

January 2024
Akshitha Sriraman Wins NSF Career Award!

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded Electrical and Computer Engineering Assistant Professor Akshitha Sriraman an NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, a prestigious five-year grant given to junior faculty for research and education. Akshitha’s research bridges computer architecture and software systems, with a focus on making hyperscale data center systems more efficient, sustainable, and equitable via solutions that span the systems stack. Her work has developed the software and hardware foundations of hyperscale data center systems that support modern web services, such as web search, video streaming, and online healthcare.
-- from CMU ECE News, January 17, 2024


November 2023
Sara McAllister Named EECS Rising Star
PDL PhD student, Sara McAllister (Computer Science), advised by Nathan Beckmann and Greg Ganger was named an EECS Rising Star for her work exploring Efficient and Sustainable Data Retrieval Systems: Zettabytes of data, mostly stored in massive, hyperscale datacenters enable much of today's modern computing. However, datacenters are projected to account for 33% of the global carbon emissions by 2050. While most datacenters are moving to renewable energy, the majority of their emissions are not from energy generation, but rather from embodied emissions, generated from lifecycle events like manufacturing and mining raw materials. One key way to reduce embodied emissions is to increase device lifetime. Unfortunately, extending the lifetime of storage is challenging because storage hardware becomes less reliable with both lifetime and IO accesses. Their research focuses on how to reduce IO to enable longer storage-device lifetimes, thus enabling sustainable datacenter storage.

Rising Stars is an intensive workshop for graduate students and postdocs with historically marginalized or underrepresented genders who are interested in pursuing academic careers in electrical engineering, computer science, and artificial intelligence and decision-making. Launched at MIT in 2012, the annual event has since been hosted at the University of California at Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon University, Stanford University, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
-- info from

More PDL News here.